DVD Regions

DVD Region Encoding

There are currently 6 global region codes that identify specific DVDs that are compatible with the players typically sold in that region. The majority of independent DVDs (MLW, NWA-FL, FOW, etc.) are region free. Most of the DVDs sold by Highspots.com (WWE, ECW, FMW, UFC, Pride, etc.) are encoded for Region 1 (U.S. and Canada) only and may not work on DVD players in other countries. Listed below are the six regions.

Region 1: U.S., U.S. Territories, Canada, and Bermuda
Region 2: Japan, Europe, South Africa, and the Middle East, including Egypt
Region 3: Southeast Asia, East Asia, including Hong Kong
Region 4: Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean
Region 5: Former Soviet Union, Indian subcontinent, Africa, North Korea, and Mongolia
Region 6: China